Queensland Maroons confirmed team list for State of Origin Game 3

Author Photo
Reece Walsh
(Getty Images)

Queensland entered into the second State of Origin clash knowing a win would hand them their third successive shield against New South Wales. 

However, the Maroons were never able to get going in Melbourne as the Blues piled on the points in a brilliant first half to cruise to a 38-18 victory. 

"It was a tough old first half," Billy Slater said after watching his side concede 34 points in the first stanza. 

"It felt like we were running uphill, and we just couldn’t stop the momentum of the game."


Queensland Maroons confirmed team list for State of Origin Game 3

1. Reece Walsh
2. Selwyn Cobbo
3. Dane Gagai
4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow
5. Valentine Holmes
6. Tom Dearden
7. Daly Cherry-Evans
15. Moeaki Fotuaika
14. Harry Grant
16. Felise Kaufusi
8. Reuben Cotter
11. Kurt Capewell
13. Patrick Carrigan

9. Ben Hunt
10. Lindsay Collins
12. Jeremiah Nanai
17. Kalyn Ponga

18. Trent Loiero

Maroons team news:

Slater had plenty to ponder after the horror show at the MCG with questions around whether he would stick solid or make some changes for Game III. 

In the end, injuries to Murray Taulagi and Xavier Coates forced his hand, seeing Dane Gagai and Selwyn Cobbo come into the starting side, with Valentine Holmes pushed from centre to wing.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow suffered a shoulder injury during the 38-18 loss but eventually returned to the fray in the second half to bag a four-pointer. The Dolphins star is expected to be fine for the decider. 

Jaydn Su'A has made way for Kurt Capewell in the backrow, while there's still no room for David Fifita.

Capewell will line up alongside Jeremiah Nanai, with Ben Hunt starting at hooker and Patrick Carrigan at lock.

The front-row pairing of Lindsay Collins and Reuben Cotter remains the same.

In a significant boost, Kalyn Ponga comes onto the bench to provide some X-factor, while Harry Grant will again look to exploit some tired Blues defenders.

Moeaki Fotuaika and Felise Kaufusi make up the 17.

However, in a host of late changes, Slater has completely altered his forward pack. 

Fotuaika and Kaufusi will start up front together with Collins dropping back to the bench and Cotter moving to the backrow. 

Grant will start at dummy-half with Hunt to come off the pine, where he is joined by Nanai. 

Mark Molyneux Photo

Mark Molyneux is a content producer for Sporting News Australia.